40K Freebies!!!!!!

So, Jim is mired in a big painting project and has given me the keys to the blog this month – and it’s only right and proper that we give a shout out to the game we fell in love with many years ago  when the world was a more innocent place.. when Donald Trump was making pizza adverts and tweeting was an activity reserved for thrushes and a mobile phone was one that you had fitted to your car..

Anyway, we caught the tail end of the Rogue Trader era and the lovable crazy amateurishness of it, and we were both sold the (by the standards of the day) shiny and slick 2nd Ed.. now many, many, many years have passed and we are now onto the 8th edition of that “bloody waste of time” as our parents described it! After coming in for much criticism in recent years, dear old Games Workshop really seem to be trying a reset, slimming down and substantially modifying the rules for 8th and best of all? They’ve got them online for free

Seriously.

40k for FREE!!!

Obviously, it’s just the sketch out version to get you going, but you know what? That’s just fine. I’d love the Dark Imperium box set, but it’s £95. £95!!! For toy soldiers!! I have a kid – this is not a luxury I can justify.

Don’t get me wring, this is not an anti-GW pricing rant – lord knows there are enough of them – but a simple objective analysis that for alot of people, £95 (or £47.50, if you’re splitting the box with a mate) is a bloody hell of a lot of money. An awful lot of people don’t have that to spare.

“Aha”, you say, “but what about the quality, the sculpts, the IP, the design etc…” – to which I say fair enough. GW stuff is pretty darn nice, and I love the fluff at 37 just as much as I did at 12, but just as I couldn’t afford it on a paper round, I can’t afford it on a warehouse job with a kid to look after. And I get the fact that they have to make a profit, or it’s game over and no 40k for anyone. I’m not questioning whether it’s a good deal – £15000 for a Ferrari Testarossa is a good deal, but since I don’t have the £15000 it’s irrelevant.

So, hats off to GW for giving me and Dan a chance to play the newest version of the game that nicked our childhoods with an entry fee of £0. If either of us win the lottery, we’ll be sure to buy a f**kload of your minis to play it with – but in the meantime, we’ll be taking the DIY route. Thanks for opening that back up to us.

Now, pass me a deodorant bottle and some plastic spoons – I’ve got a grav-attacke vehicle to make….

2 thoughts on “40K Freebies!!!!!!

  1. This is the first time in a long time that I did not buy the box set. For me it wasn’t the cost, though it’s not cheap, but I didn’t need the models. Even if I did “need” the models, I probably pass at that price. They are beautiful models though.
    Having played 2 games of 8th so far, I can say I really like it. The trimmed down ruleset won’t be for everyone, but for me it’s exactly what I was after.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I imagine a fair few veteran players will be in the same position, especially as they always put Space Marines in the box! For a faction supposed to be only a million string, pretty certain there’s at least ten times that number of models in circulation 😉 We’re certainly looking forward to giving it a proper road text and there will be at least one battle report posted here in the coming months.

    Like

Leave a Reply

