Skinflint’s Big Day Out

So the other day I found myself in the unusual position of having an entirely free afternoon – self assessment done, DIY fully caught up with, all the grown-up big boy chores checked off the list.

Time to nurture the geek within, I think.

Nottingham is just a short half hour hop up the M1, so on a whim I decided to go check out somewhere I’d heard about but never seen – the epicentre of the Games Workshop empire (the Emperor’s Palace, if you will) – Warhammer World. A quick check of the website revealed free entry and free parking, so I figured what the hell!

IMG_8520
Do I tell him he’s parked in a disabled spot?
IMG_8521
“If your name’s not down…”

ForgeWorld Titans, Primarchs and Knights.. this ain’t the Rogue Trader I remember, with the grav tank made out of deodorant bottles!

IMG_8524
Urban warfare gaming board.. wow!
IMG_8525
So.. would you like skulls with that?
IMG_8526
Stunning terrain

 

Some sort of Egyptian themed battle board.. no idea what it was, but it looked incredible!

IMG_8529
Some sort of fantasy thing… just incredible!

So after a mooch around the gaming boards, I bought my £7.50 ticket and went to check out the exhibition hall.. very glad I did!

IMG_8530
The book that hijacked my childhood!
IMG_8531
The Emperor vs Horus – the legendary duel described in White Dwarf 131 (I think)
IMG_8532
The studio Blood Angels army from my 2nd ever Whte Dwarf in 1991.. I almost wanted to ask these lads for an autograph!
IMG_8533
Orks n Grots.. Makari the standard bearer, is that right?

Hall 1 exhibits – Age Of SIgmar dioramas, absolutely mindblowing!

IMG_8537
Dwarves battle… things.. in a valley!

Hall 2 – The Imperium!

 

30k diorama – Emperors Children vs.. Raven Guard? I get a little confused with some of the names

IMG_8540
Batshit insane Mechanicus models – love these!
IMG_8541
Deathwing! Back in 1991, my Marines spent some time painted up as these guys.. in Humbrol enamel paints…  I knew no better :-/
IMG_8542
Dark Angels scouts – love the camo patterns

Big ass diorama – Space Wolves vs ‘Nids

IMG_8546
Death Korps of Krieg reporting in!
IMG_8547
Catachans – Steroids? Us?
IMG_8548
Cadians

 

Imperial guard on parade – I like to think there’s a miniature Vladimir Putin in there somewhere..

IMG_8551
Dark Angel fortress

Hall 3 – The Battle Of…. nope, forgotten. Ultramarines vs Chaos though, and oh my god just look at this…

A 12 foot high lunatic monument to the Grimdark… just staggering!

Hall 4: Enemies Of the Imperium

IMG_8566
Eldar
IMG_8567
Tyranids – tentacles ahoy!

Imperial Guard raid Ork settlement – “Blackhawk Down!”

IMG_8571
Warlord Titan – in 28mm!!!!!
IMG_8572
Chaos Reaver and Warhounds

Crimson Fists v Orks on Rynns World – modelled on the original rulebook cover!

Orks. Love Orks. No idea what half this stuff is, but it’s boss as tits.

The final centrepiece – Mechanicus v Tau.. sleek tech vs crazy tech!

Overall, thoroughly enjoyed my visit – inevitably, there was a GW guy trying to sell me stuff, but he was relaxed, pleasant, and the exhibitions were easily worth the ticket price. A thoroughly enjoyable way to pass an hour, if you’re in the vicinity I definitely recommend it!

2 thoughts on “Skinflint’s Big Day Out

Leave a comment