Terrain Talk! Pt. 2 – Hills

Once again, shouts out to Lukes APS, Mel The Terrain Tutor and 3T STudios here – they are responsible for teaching Dan & I what we used to make this stuff. Credit where it’s due!

So last time out it was ruins, now I’d like to share with you How I Build Hills…

20170720_200927

This was where I started – Good quality thin corrugated card, two layers glued together at 180 degree angles so the corrugation folds cross each other, helping prevent warping. On top of that – blue modelling foam (although for subsequent builds I’ll be using Celotex insulation foam, as that’s what my local Wickes have in store for FAR less money). I’ve carved two layers with a cheap DIY knife, glues them together using tacky glue and then textured using filler (spackle, for my American friends). Embedded in the filler are bits of masonry offcuts, mortar, a stick my dog chewed up, stones from the back of the garden and bits of gravel – basically anything with an interesting looking texture that happened to be lying around. Skinflint don’t pay for texture, yo. I then sanded down any rough edges, covered the thing with PVA, sprinkled it with sand and cat litter, before undercoating black with cheap £1 spray paint.

NB – make sure you’ve covered up the foam in texture or grit or something before you spray, because the chemicals in the spray paint will melt your foam..

Next stage is painting:

20170724_224741

Drybrushed up with the earth tone palette I mentioned in the last terrain post.

20170724_225618

After drybrushing a basic blue grey onto the rocky areas, I followed Luke’s APS advice and dabbed in a little red on the rocky areas…

20170724_233123

The next step was drybrushing successively lighter greys onto the rocky areas – again using the same palette of paints discussed last time. This helps homogenise your terrain and pull it all together, kind of the way comic book artists try to unify and limit their palette.

20170725_004846

Then flocking! Jarvis JFT01 is my main colour here, with JFT02 and 03 providing shade.

20170725_225310

Wet blended a little dust from my garage floor, spray sealed with diluted PVA, sprayed with matt varnish and it’s good to go! Nice and dramatic, and the Orks of Da Skooderia certainly seem to agree with me..

 

I’m genuinely pleased with this hill, particularly the rocky bits, and it’s not actually that hard to do.. so the old hills will be upcycled to match! Stay tuned for our final terrain post – the board itself…(dun dun DUN!) 😉

8 thoughts on “Terrain Talk! Pt. 2 – Hills

  1. great stuff and great-looking terrain, as was last post! Just what I needed to dip my feet in and learn these skills. I am still dying to know how you made the space marines … my guess is you used some cheap 1/72 ish toy soldiers for conversion purposes…and maybe green stuff? Anyway love the great intros to terrain. looking forward to more. Still making all the bits for my ‘artificials’ they’re basically modeled after Boilerplate: http://www.robotshop.com/blog/en/the-mysterious-boilerplate-a-victorian-era-robot-3751 . I’ll send you some after they’re put together 😀 … email me.
    like these:
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/PLASTIC-COMBAT-MISSION-SOLDIERS-FILLERS/dp/B00BQZ30I2
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/Combat-Mission-MINI-SOLDIER-Force/dp/B00BJHI4XS

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Pete! Yeah, you pretty much hit the nail on the head with the Marines, 1/72 infantry with cardboard and green stuff 👍 looking forward to seeing your take on the artificial, boilerplate is awesome! 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment