Stompy Uncle Joe! Superheavy Soviet Mecha

Dan here – I wasn’t going to do a post on this (going to wait to the Grand Unveiling of my new look Holy Soviet Army) but Jim saw it and I thought he was going to shit out a lung – he convinced me it deserved a blog post in it’s own right.

So I began with a Steam Mech papercraft template that I downloaded from http://www.toposolitario.com a couple of years ago (although sadly it doesn’t seem to be there anymore). I built up the main sections of the hull and legs and wound up with this:

20170914_105723

As you can see, I’ve added a few bits – rivets are cardboard using a 1/8″ hole puncher like this which as an essential in doing this kind of stuff. I cut out a couple of bits of cereal box card for extra plating, around the feet, built a Lightning Launcher from card, greenstuff and cocktail stick and one of those ring pull inserts you get in milk cartons and sauce bottles became the anti aircraft radar dish and gun mount.

In these you can see the powerfist/flamethrower arm built from drinking straws, a piece of scrap foamboard for the fist with the fingers built from cocktail sticks chopped down to 1cm ish lengths, snapped in half and the break sealed with superglue. I’ve also added more armour plate, hatches, and HUNDREDS OF BLOODY RIVETS.

Primed with £1 black spray paint and based with Vallejo Russian Green.

Washed with Army Painter Green Tone.

From there, I drybrushed with Russian Green which I lightened with tan craft paint, then a pin wash of Vallejo Brown ink around the hatches and the HUNDREDS OF BLOODY RIVETS, before weathering . This was sponge chipping, first black and then Vallejo German Grey, and I went HEAVY on this, I like a grungy look for my forces. Then I gave the legs, arms etc a drybrush of Burnt Umber dark brown, which I highlighted with a final drybrush of a mid brown tone.

 

Stompy Uncle Joe leading the Holy Soviet Army to inevitable victory! Za Rodina!

Side note – the template was designed with 28mm in mind, I believe – in 1/72 it’s MASSIVE, we’re talking Imperial Knight size. Jim lad, prepare to be crushed beneath Emperor Stalin’s iron fist!

 

10 thoughts on “Stompy Uncle Joe! Superheavy Soviet Mecha

  1. Nice work!
    I have the same download, it’s set of modular components for making a scad of different mecha. I scaled mine down to ~1/72 though, but the bigger one looks good. Can’t wait to see the new model soviet horde.
    Just curious, has the m85 changed since before? It used to look like there was a tubular portion underneath, now it seems like more of just the ‘bottlecap’ top portion.
    On Sun, Sep 17, 2017 at 5:12 PM, Skinflint Games wrote:
    > skinflintgames posted: “Dan here – I wasn’t going to do a post on this > (going to wait to the Grand Unveiling of my new look Holy Soviet Army) but > Jim saw it and I thought he was going to shit out a lung – he convinced me > it deserved a blog post in it’s own right. So I began wit” >

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks man- it’s MASSIVE 😂😂😂 ridiculously oversized, but a fitting centrepiece for the Soviets! Yeah, the M85s are supposed to be skimmers so I replaced the cocktail sticks with clear plastic rod, did the same for the Airborne jet pack infantry 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment